D.C. shoegaze marvels Big Hush have premiered the first single off their forthcoming debut album Spirit/Wholes. The quartet, featuring members of Pygmy Lush and Flasher, explores the intersections between harmony-laden melancholy, off-kilter punk, and cacophonous shoegaze. Listen to the album’s billowing lead single “Soft Eyes” via NPR today.
Skidding across an undercurrent of silky hums and seesawing guitar, “Soft Eyes” epitomizes Big Hush’s pop prowess and penchant for textural melodies. Candidly embracing collaboration and collectivity, Big Hush’s songs are imbued with the tension and tenderness requisite of intimate friendship. Writing is communal, vocal duties are shared, songs are tinkered and tailored in the backseats of vans—Big Hush’s songs convey an unyielding devotion to their craft and to each other. 
Originally conceived as two separate albums, the songs comprising Spirit/Wholes were recorded throughout 2014 and 2015, forging a sonic history of a band has flourished with time. Chronicling a complex and gossamer aesthetic, the debut’s ten tracks cut through dense textures, arrangements and harmonies with a searing clarity.
Spirit/Wholes is due out via Robotic Empire on August 11. More news to come. 
Big Hush is: Genevieve Ludwig, Owen Wuerker, Chris Taylor, and Emma Baker

Spirit/Wholes Track Listing: 
1. Soft Eyes
2. Pay To Play
3. Say Anything
4. Cold Shoulder
5. Cough
6. Walk On 
7. Wholes
8. Honey
9. Wrong House
10. Where I End
Share on Google Plus

About Screamer

Ut wisi enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exerci tation ullamcorper suscipit lobortis nisl ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis autem vel eum iriure dolor in hendrerit in vulputate velit esse molestie consequat, vel illum dolore eu feugiat nulla facilisis at vero eros et accumsan et iusto odio dignissim qui blandit praesent luptatum zzril delenit augue duis.

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario