Still reeling from the lauded release of their debut album, pensive post-punk trio Animal Youth have premiered a video for rousing album closer “You Don’t Know Love.” Watch the breakneck paced video via Pure Grain Audio
Enchanted by star-crossed love stories and the cold echo of ‘80s romanticism, Animal Youth has chiseled a fuzz-pocked sound from a foundation of chorus bass and gated drums. The video for “You Don’t Know Love” reflects that perfectly calibrated aesthetic, yielding a piece steeped in age, as opposed to “videos looking like mineral water commercials shot with 4K cameras and drones.”
“‘You Don't Know Love’ sounds to me like a journey through the night after the end of a summer love, something nostalgic and beautiful, something you'll never know again,” vocalist Guy Tourney said of the track. “For me it was more than just a summer, this song is about the end of a 6-year story, and at some point, I could have filled an ocean only with tears.”
The Brussels-based trio, which was sculpted from the remains of noise-punk group Siamese Queens, take cues from the Cocteau Twins’ enigmatic persona, The Jesus and Mary Chain’s white-knuckle grip on noise, and the nimbleness of Echo & The Bunnymen. Their debut album, ‘Animal’ is out now via Weyrd Son Records.

Animal, Track Listing: 

1. Darkest Place
2. Rainy Day
3. Eat You Alive
4. Feeling
5. Love you when you’re Dead
6. To Burn
7. Sunday
8. In Heaven
9. You Don’t Know Love

No hay comentarios