Latest Albums


News: MANGOO: The Heat Full-Length Streaming Exclusively At Scene Point Blank; New Record From Finnish Fuzz Rockers To Drop This Friday Via Small Stone

Friday, December 8th marks the official release of The Heat, the anticipated new full-length from Finnish fuzz rockers MANGOO (pronounced "man go"). Delivering a wall of thick, fuzz-fueled guitars and hard-hitting drums with an added sprinkling of analog synth sounds, the Turku-based outfit's latest full-length combines grunge, classic heavy rock, and a progressive psychedelic spaciousness that transcends all boundaries of style from rock, metal and beyond.
Mega-choruses like "Get Away" and "Grey Belly" provide landmarks while MANGOO brings psychedelic heft to "Beyond The Sky" and the title-track, which, at seven minutes, seems to draw together everything the album that shares its name has to offer - except perhaps in the closing cover of Eddie Murphy's 1985 single "Party All The Time." Not that they needed to remind listeners to stay on their toes because you never know what's coming when MANGOO emerges from the studio, but suffice it to say the track remains an earworm for the ages.
As a precursor to its release, Scene Point Blank is hosting an exclusive full stream of the record at THIS LOCATION where you can also view the band's previously released videos for "Beyond The Sky" and "Relief."  
MANGOO's The Heat will see release via Small Stone on December 8th, 2017. Preorders are currently available at THIS LOCATION.
In a recent review of the record, The Obelisk observes, "MANGOO adopt a range of approaches across these cuts, from the spacious and progressive heft of 'One Day,' on which the guitars drift wide during the open verses only to resolidify around a massive and dramatic chorus, to the tense chugging, percussive nuance and slightly-jammed feel that hits in the penultimate 'Grey Belly,' building to an apex that, even as it follows what would've seemed to be the culmination of the album in its titular cut, justifies its presence." Echoes And Dust writes, "This album follows you. The songs stick with you for days. Whether it's the stoner punch of 'Deification' or the chorus of 'Beyond The Sky,' The Heat, sticks its claws into you... with rousing choruses that could brighten up even the most miserable of days." Metal Nexus calls The Heat, "an instant classic that can be tirelessly played, which still sounds fresh and exciting with each listen," furthering, "It is a non-stop joy ride that can take you on a journey down many twisting roads, of shifting time spans and contrasting landscapes." Adds Sea Of Tranquility, "The Heat packs eleven dramatic, hard hitting songs that bridge '70s styled hard rock, psychedelia, space rock, prog, grunge, and a touch of classic metal.... MANGOO have one foot firmly planted in the glory days of yesteryear, the other in 2017, making for an exciting sound that delivers big time throughout The Heat."
MANGOO has been busting out the fuzz since 2005 when they released their untitled debut EP. Countless beers, shows, and drummers later in 2009 the first full-length, Neolithic, was released on 7:45 Records. With a firm lineup of vocalist/guitarist Richard "Pickles" Dahllund, guitarist/backing vocalist Mathias "Mattarn" Åkerlund, bassist/backing vocalist Igor del Toro, drummer/backing vocalist Teemu Pulkkinen, and keyboardist/backing vocalist/noisemaker/engineer Niklas Björklund, they engage new expanses as they follow-up their 2012 Small Stone debut, Neverland, with the eleven songs of The Heat.
MANGOO's The Heat is fifty-three minutes of masterful heavy rock and roll of inimitable personality and unmistakable songcraft. It is a welcome return after half a decade from a band who have obviously not been wasting their time in terms of growth and forward progression, and a surefire highlight for any underground heads lucky enough to take it on.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Breathing The Core Designed by Copyright © 2014

Imágenes del tema: Bim. Con la tecnología de Blogger.