News: Sittingthesummerout’s Essential Building Block: Italian Quintet’s Sophomore EP ‘Brick and Mortar’ Out Now


Milan’s sittingthesummerout have today released their sophomore EP ‘Brick and Mortar’ via Ghost Factory Records & Arts. Vocalist Samir Batista comments: "This EP condenses two years of being stuck in the limbo that is being in a band, but not being able to play and write consistently. We finally got around to doing just that in 2017, and we're extremely proud of the result. sittingthesummerout as a whole couldn't be more stoked to have other people hear what we've been working on for so long." Get it here:
The release of the EP follows the recent unveiling of video ‘To Those Concerned’ here, a song Batista says is: “about friendship, about worrying where you're going with your life, and what those friends you hold dearest are doing with theirs - wondering what the roads you all take will do to your relationships - because everybody seems to drift apart eventually. It's a thought I often struggle with, keeping me in my bed in the morning when even coffee, my savior most days, won't do the trick.” 
Hailing from Milan, Batista named the act in 2015, following a difficult Summer, which he reveals “cemented the concept that summer, as a season, wasn’t meant for me.”Completed by Dimitri Sironi and Luca Della Foglia on Guitar, Andrea Daniele on Drums and Cristina Lietti on Bass, sittingthesummerout play a well-crafted, atmospheric take on post-hardcore, blended with vocals that flit between spoken word, frustrated screams and evocative singing, and will surely resonate with fans of Hotel Books, La Dispute and Brand New.
The songs of ‘Brick and Mortar’ cover themes of “rejection and deception, the obstacles we face in life, coming to terms with what goes on, and how to become a better person.” Batista reveals that each track begins with the foundation of his lyrics and builds into vast soundscapes such as those found on the EP: “Thankfully my bandmates are all great and understand where I want to lead them to, and take the magic of creating the music from there. We built it from scratch, every drop of sweat went into making something we’d be happy with.”
‘Brick and Mortar’ Track Listing: 

1. Nothing Changes In Baltimore 
2. It Won’t Rain Forever 
3. Permanence 
4. Dry, Dry June 
5. To Those Concerned

No hay comentarios