Latest Albums


News: Barely Civil Joins T3H for Debut LP, Stream Lead Single via Stereogum

Barely Civil has joined the Take This to Heart Records family and will be releasing their debut LP, We Can Live Here Forever, digitally and on CD and cassette March 2nd. Combining the spectral clarity of emo with the homespun storytelling of indie-rock, this first offering from these college undergraduates is a lesson in growth.

Stereogum is premiering lead single "Eau Claire? Oh, Claire" today. It's a slow burn perfect for fans of both this Wisconsin band's chosen genres, melding together heartbreak and nostalgia for a tight-knit call and response bridge. It rules. James Rettig called the track "wonderfully textured and adept at what it’s doing, with a chugging underbelly and grim austerity that recalls early Death Cab and a sweet serenity that’s in line with emo trends over the last few years." Pretty great endorsement, huh?
FFO: Sorority Noise, From Indian Lakes, Manchester Orchestra

Listen To "Eau Claire? Oh, Claire." Via Stereogum:

Pre-order We Can Live Here Forever: 
It’s easy to get lost in Wisconsin. Metropolitan centers might anchor to the Midwest, but patches of sprawling wilderness and bitter weather make for an American outlier. Barely Civil was built from this backdrop — four different dots on the state map. Despite this, their debut full-length We Can Live Here Forever plots a journey home, whatever and wherever that means. Stopovers across genre and structure keep the pace measured and lean, while Matt Riefler’s layered production explodes any breathing room into powerful statements. 
Vocalist/guitarist and primary lyricist Connor Erickson leaves plenty of signage trailing to his home base. “Eau Claire? Oh, Claire.” marries Wisco landmarks with a portrait of cautious twenty-something love. “Stark” and “Kent” — a pair of slumbering guitar tracks in the back half — gain their names from his and bassist Ben Forst’s address lines. There’s also an outward mobility as the tracks grow in magnitude, cataloging sleepless nights in Super 8 motels, in others’ houses, in the scattered silence carried through cigarette smoke and whispered confessions. The nomadic scene changes match the record’s morphing between indie-rock’s straight-laced and stratospheric ambitions in minutes. 
For Barely Civil, home isn’t really a place. It’s a collection of things — tones, conversations, milemarkers — that will ultimately find a home for you, too. 
We Can Live Here Forever will be released March 2nd on CD/CS/Digital via Take This To Heart Records.
Barely Civil - We Can Live Here Forever

Track Listing:

1. I've Been Getting Headaches Lately
2. Lost//Found
3. Eau Claire? Oh, Claire.
4. RE: Your Lungs
5. Handwritten House
6. You With a Cape, Me With a Baseball Bat
7. Stark
8. Kent
9. Super 8//Marathon
10. I Am Drowning

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Breathing The Core Designed by Copyright © 2014

Imágenes del tema: Bim. Con la tecnología de Blogger.