News: NOH WAVE COLLECTIVE YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HUNGRY GHOST”


Canadian prog rock cohort Yamantaka // Sonic Titan continues to tease the already hotly anticipated release of their third album, DIRT—this time, with a walloping new single. The collective’s latest offering, “Hungry Ghost,” is a riling four-and-a-half minutes that begins with ethereal vocals and sparse instrumentation, carefully ascending to a crescendo of hacksaw guitars and acid jazz horns. Listen to the track today via Revolver. 
 
DIRT is YT//ST’s followup to their Polaris Prize shortlisted sophomore effort UZU. While DIRT is poised to be the band’s most narratively ambitious project yet, the album is nevertheless a masterful leap in their musical evolution. Funneling influences like Judas Priest, Killing Joke, and Jordan Knight through their own unique lens, YT//ST resists being pigeonholed into any one idea, sound or cultural perspective. 
 
Yamantaka // Sonic Titan were never ones to fit neatly into one category—or even one artistic discipline. Functioning principally as a Noh-Wave prog collective, YT//ST marries Asian diasporic and Indigenous influences with rock sludge and pop sensibilities. No matter what direction they choose to pursue, though, it can only come from Yamantaka // Sonic Titan. 
 
DIRT is due out via Paper Bag Records on March 23 and can be preordered here. Catch Yamantaka // Sonic Titan on the road beginning this March; more news to come. 

DIRT, TRACK LISTING: 

1. Karonhiake
3. Dark Waters
4. Yanders
5. The Decay
6. Beast
8. Dirt
9. Tawine
10. Out Of Time





 
YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN — ON TOUR

Tuesday, March 13 @ Dan’s Silverleaf (Denton, TX) 
Wednesday, March 14 @ Swan Dive, Outdoor Stage (SXSW // Austin, TX)
Thursday, March 15 @ Hotel Vegas (SXSW // Austin, TX)
Friday, March 16 @ Swan Dive (SXSW // Austin, TX)
Saturday, March 17 @ Gasa Gasa (New Orleans, LA)
Sunday, March 18 @ The Earl (Atlanta, GA)
Monday, March 19 @ Duke University (Durham, NC)
Tuesday, March 20 @ Union (Washington D.C.)
Thursday, March 22 @ The Sound Hole (Philadelphia, PA)
Saturday, March 24 @ Baby’s All Right (Brooklyn, NY)
Sunday, March 25 @ Middle East (Cambridge, MA) 
Tuesday, March 27 @ L'Escogriffe (Montreal, QC) 
Wednesday, March 28 @ L’Anti (Québec City, QC)
Thursday, March 29 @ Baby G’s (Toronto, ON)
Friday, March 30 @ Refined Fool Brewing Co. (Sarnia, ON)
Saturday, March 31 @ Cactus Club (Milwaukee, WI) 
Sunday, April 1 @ 7th Street Entry (Minneapolis, MN)
Monday, April 2 @ Handsome Daughter (Winnipeg, MB) 
Wednesday, April 4 @ Amigos (Saskatoon, SK) 
Thursday, April 5 @ Starlite Room — Lower Hall (Edmonton, AB) 
Friday, April 6 @ The Palomino (Calgary, AB) 
Saturday, April 7 @ The Bartlett (Spokane, WA) 
Sunday, April 8 @ Vera (Seattle, WA) 
Monday, April 9 @ Doug Fir Lounge (Portland, OR) 
Tuesday, April 10 @ Bottom of the Hill (San Fransisco, CA) 
Thursday, April 12 @ Resident LA (Los Angeles, CA) 
Friday, April 13 @ Soda Bar (San Diego, CA) 
Saturday, April 14 @ Club Congress (Tucson, AZ) 
Tuesday, April 17 @ Barleycorns (Wichita, KS) 
Wednesday, April 18 @ Riot Room (Kansas City, MO) 
Thursday, April 19 @ Empty Bottle (Chicago, IL) 
Friday, April 20 @ Pioneer (Indianapolis, IN) 
Friday, May 18 @ Biltmore Cabaret (Vancouver, BC) 
Share on Google Plus

About Screamer

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario