Free Albums


Albums To Buy

Interviews About Albums: Catch Fire - Karma Owes Me A Lifetime Of Happiness (2018)

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

KOMALOH is something we’re extremely proud of. It took around 14 months to write, and we couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. Doing an album was something we never expected when started this band, and to be given the opportunity to release it via a label like Rude Records is nothing short of a dream come true. We feel like we’ve really discovered who we are as musicians, people, and a band now, and we’re excited to see what the future brings with KOMALOH. This is only the beginning for our band.

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

People often say things like “what goes around comes around” or that “people always get what they deserve”, and whilst that’s a comforting notion, I’ve just never seen it happen. We named the album “Karma Owes Me a Lifetime of Happiness” as it best summed up our thoughts and feelings towards Karma. We are not rejecting the existence of it, but we do question it, and if it’s there, I’d like to think that myself and the people I love are owed something from the good they practice and emit in their everyday lives. Who knows, maybe it’s waiting for us somewhere down the line.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

We tracked the instruments for the album with Bob Cooper out in Leeds. The vocals were recorded in Derby with Myroslav Borys-Smith. It was then mixed by Seth Henderson (Knuckle Puck, Homesafe, Real Friends) in the U.S, and mastered by Grant Berry back in the UK. All songs were written by ourselves in our bedrooms.

4. If you have to pick one song, which one would you pick?

I think our favourite song collectively as a band would be “For Those Who Fear Death”. Instrumentally, and lyrically this song is the most heartfelt on the record, and it’s the one we constantly go back to listen again. It was the song that we shocked ourselves with the most when we wrote it, and we couldn’t be prouder of it, and the record in general.

5. Is there a special message in this EP/CD?If there is what it is?

The message we wanted to portray with this record, is that good and bad things will happen in your life, and it might not necessarily be down to any good or bad karma. Things MIGHT just happen because they do, and it could just be as simple as that. There might not be a picture, and we’ll probably never know. Take your life as it comes and take the rough with the smooth. Enjoy the good things in your life whilst they’re there and don’t worry so much about negative things.

6. Are there some lyrics that you´d love to share?

“Like a man gone blind, I’m searching for the colour in life. So far I’ve found nothing, the whites and the greys bleed me dry. But I’ll survive.” This is probably my fondest lyric on the record. It basically sums up how I’ve felt for the best part of 3 years. It seems like for me most of life has lost it’s colour, and I’m merely coasting through. I know that it could be so much worse, but I’m also aware that I’ve lost a lust for life I once had. I’m on a journey to rediscovering that. 

7. Which inspirations haven been important for this album ? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thanks specially?

There’s a reference to something my mother often says on a track called “Hostage”. She always says “everything happens for a reason”. I’ve always been skeptical about this and I’ve never really adopted it as truth. Musically, we’re inspired by anything and everything. Musically, I think our biggest influencers are each other. We all help to inspire each other more than anything or anyone else now.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Breathing The Core Designed by Copyright © 2014

Imágenes del tema: Bim. Con la tecnología de Blogger.