Latest Bandcamp Release

Track By Tracks: Rebel Priest - R’lyeh Heavy (2020)

1. The Summoning:

Instrumental song, we had some fun with this using an old classical progression and cranking it up to eleven!! summon the beast!!

2. Electric Lady:

This one is probably the oldest of the batch, came up really organically and was honed through many, many shows. Once it was a crowd favourite, we knew we had to keep it for the album even if “she” was a little older than the others haha 

3. Sleeping Like a Hangman:

I’ve recently started thinking of this one in terms of living with your mortality. Jayme was the brainchild on this one, he’s the guy to ask haha

4. Elm St. :

Homage to “nightmare on elm street”, another in our catalogue of movie-themed songs (Blood & Sand, Blade Runner, etc..)

5. Snake Eyes: 

When you simply don’t know who’s gonna sing a song… I think each one of us sang a various early version of the song before it became what we hear today. That process though, is really what I enjoy, the different ways songs become a reality. Like sometimes they just are, immediately what they are; and other times it takes a lot of work and moulding to become what they are.

6. Emperor:

LOVE this one! great combination of everyone’s talents

7. Lighten the Load:

This turned out so different than I ever thought it would, one of the last tracks we wrote for the album it included a lot of different ideas; like REALLY different ideas. But somehow, we pulled it together and put the Priest stamp on it.

8. Dead End World:

And uplifting take on the end of the world or a way of finding some individuality in the work about the world that most of us feel trapped in… as the song says, "live for yourself, not for the weekend"

No hay comentarios

Con la tecnología de Blogger.