Latest Bandcamp Release

Interviews About Albums: Universe In My Yard - Holographic Sight (2020)

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

The project began in the year 2011 and the idea was to play progressive music which could range from metalcore and deathcore. After a change in line-up, which started in late 2017 with the entrance of rhythm guitarist Raffaele Sansone and ended with bass player Tommaso Profumo in 2019, we got the foundation that we needed for our first LP: Holographic Sight, where we try to create music without stylistic borders, leaving our creativity as free as possible in order to create over a solid death metal base, from jazz to Metalcore, passing through blues and hard rock

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

The album name is inspired by the the actual political global situation mixed with “Blade Runner”, were everyone lives in illusion but no one realizes that all is a lie and no one knows where the truth is

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

All of the band members worked to create the album. Except for Nicolò, the singer, who was the only one that wrote the lyrics, we all created the music together. We took a very diverse approach to create the songs in Holographic Sight. Some of them, like “Meaningless Gaze” or “Twelve Years Delay”, existed long before making this record, and remained pretty much intact, if you don’t consider some tweaking of course. Others, like “Storm of Souls” and “Kempeitai”, came to life while jamming together. In the most extreme cases, like “Learn to Love the Leash”, we tried to rearrange different musical ideas we had laying around into one coherent song. If you take a close listen to the tracks, I think you can tell those differences. But the ultimate goal was to create a cohesive narrative throughout, musically and lyrically.

4. If you have to pick one song, which one would you pick?

We choose “Meaningless Gaze” as the most representative of the album because it features a deathcore soul tainted by metalcore references and synth tracks, and we think that’s the best representation of the kind of music we want to create.

5. Is there a special message in this EP/CD?

If there is what it is? All the LP is influenced by the political landscape of these years. We distorted it in order to make it sinister and dystopic, in a world that could seem far from us, but in reality, it’s not. If you consider the current events we really risk going towards a social, economic and environmental catastrophe.

6. Are there some lyrics that you´d love to share?

Probably one part of the last song “Imagine your life as a Palindrome”: “Anthropocene era is here Monument of man, architects the end” this phrase has in few words the full album concept

7. Which inspirations haven been important for this album?

Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thanks specially? We were really inspired by the new generation of Djent and Advant-garde bands. Some people like to argue whether it’s just the sound of low-tuned guitars or if it’s a whole genre on its own, but that’s really not the point: in our opinion djent is the way of playing, thinking and arranging that changed modern metal forever, and gave it a whole new spin. For the Advant-garde sound, instead, we think every musician’s ambition should be to look forward and to innovate, or in other words, give some kind of unique contribution to the art of music.

8. Something to add?

We would like to thank the community for the amazing feedback that we’ve been receiving on the album so far. It has been a hard and long journey of working overnight, in the weekends, and in the holidays, just to make it happen and make it as good as we could. It’s really a pleasure to share it with the world right now and we’d like to thank everyone for the support they’re showing.

No hay comentarios

Con la tecnologĂ­a de Blogger.