Interviews About Albums: Cruzeiro - Cruzeiro (2021)

1. What can you say about Cruzeiro, your new album?

Cruzeiro is a Doom metal band born from the friendship between Gon.B (guitar) & Raposa! (Bass) at the beginning of 2018. It started as a trio (guitar, bass, and drums) and some time went by until Beatrix Onix (vocals) and I (Rust-drums) entered to complete the actual lineup. Since this happened by the end of 2019, all began to work properly. Soon we started to work hard in our compositions and let our influences and visions flow. For example 'Al-quibla' is a song part of this new LP but it was already composed and edited in a digital demo, which was a raw version from the first recorded material in the early days of Cruzeiro (only with Gon & Raposa! and another drummer). This song, now with the full lineup of Cruzeiro was reformulated and we decided to include it in this album, making some arrangements, improving the tone and, of course, the voice. “Aquarius” had some riffs composed back then too, but we rebuilt this song as a new one together, and the remaining songs, “THE/OWLS/ARE/NOT/WHAT/THEY/SEEM” & “Balor, As sete pálpebras”, were arranged by us all as well as a result of sharing a lot of time and ideas. Only a few months later we were ready to record our first full LP. We are very happy about our first LP release named “Cruzeiro”, we are receiving a lot of good reviews. For me, this is very important as a musician, and it’s pure fuel for the band.

2. What is the meaning of Cruzeiro?

It is the name of this kind of religious monument made out of a huge stone cross, which is very particular from Galicia, Spain, the place where the band was formed. It also has a darker sense, in a superstitious way, as these crosses are usually placed at crossroads to avoid contact with the devil and ending up selling your soul.

3. Which one is the composer of this new album?

As I already mentioned before, some songs had been written already by the guitarist and the bassist some time ago, but when B. Onix and I came along, the rest of the compositions were all written by all of us together.

4. If you have to pick one song, which one would you pick?

I know it's a cliché, but I like all the songs and I really enjoy playing them, however, if I have to pick one I would choose “Al-quibla”.

5. Is there a special message in Cruzeiro? If there is, what is it?

Maybe... hahaha, each song in this Lp has different and diverse unrelated topics: you could find a trip through a painful catharsis in the outer space, an astral travel to desert areas in the Rift area, an alternative story of malevolent supernatural beings from Irish folklore and an intoxicating Lynch tale. This is what you can find in these 4 chapters around our "Cruzeiro". We write about what keeps us inspired in that moment and perhaps that has only meaning for ourselves, which is the most important thing when we are writing and composing.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

Metal horses ride the sky, bringing death to my desires, liquid gold and liquid land, are the desert for my time... “Aquarius”. Look in the mirror, what do you see? I can see the smoke, I can smell fire, the battle is drawing night... “THE/OWLS/ARE/NOT/WHAT/THEY/SEEM” O lume abrasa apariencia, purificando a sombra interna,os mares ruxen perdición, secando as penas que arrastrou...”Balor, as sete pálpebras” Nunha marisma desertada, dei almas non vingadas ,Espaiadas.... “Al-Quibla”.

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Perhaps what mainly inspired us was to start from the beginning of this project and have the chance to connect with each other. Also, maybe the break that happened due to the COVID gave us some beautiful time to draw ideas from home and as soon as we were able to meet up at the rehearsal room again, it was clear that we had a lot of accumulated inspiration and we decided to do the only thing a band could do during the COVID crisis: enter the studio. In this way, we want to deeply thank our families and partners for bearing with us in this process during these hard times for everyone.

8. Something to add?

Thank you for giving us this opportunity to appear at Breathing The Core. And also thanks to anyone who had read this interview. You can visit and listen to us on our channels:

Soon on Spotify too...

Stay tuned & Doom on!!


No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.