Track By Tracks: SORROW - Death Of Sorrow (2023)

In a long-awaited release, the band Sorrow has put together an album that promises to be an emotional and resonant collection of music. Ranging from anger and aggression to thoughtful reflection, this album is, in the band's words, "like a 30-year vent." Below, we'll delve into each track to explore the meaning, inspiration, and stories behind them.

1. Doom The World:

Inspiration: This track is a powerful anti-war anthem, reflecting the current global political climate and the constant war machinery. It's an outcry against the focus on destruction rather than the welfare of people.

Creating Process: The band mixed old lyrics with new ones, forming a strange yet cohesive message that resonates across time.

2. Judicial Falsity:

Inspiration: Originally about zombies, it was reformed to take a stance against the flawed court system, highlighting cases where justice seemed to be subverted.

Recording Process: The song's creation was an interactive process between band members, and even resulted in an inside joke that made its way into the lyrics.

3. Remembered Eternally:

Inspiration: Written during a time of optimism, this song is about leaving a positive mark on the world and seizing opportunities before it's too late.

Result: Reflecting back, the band describes the outcome of this hope as "Meh."

4. Scar:

Inspiration: A deeply personal song reflecting the aftermath of a terrible accident in 1991. It explores the constant reminder of pain and trauma.

Recording Process: The intro's intricate layering of a reversed guitar riff, heartbeats, and hidden song all contribute to a complex and personal soundscape.

5. Required Irrationality:

Inspiration: An outright objection to religious practices that require suspension of logic, promoting bigotry and violence.

Message: A direct challenge to organized religion's hypocrisy.

6. Someone Else's Blood:

Inspiration: Like "Doom The World," this song carries strong anti-war sentiments, reacting to media pushing pro-military agendas.

Creating Process: Again, combining parts of old lyrics with new, the song serves as a poignant statement.

7. Hidden Fear:

Inspiration: A commentary on the conflict between personal desire to be good and societal pressures, particularly from religion.

Musicianship: Highlighted by Brett's guitar solo, described as his best ever.

8. Funeral March:

Inspiration: Summing up Sorrow's existence, it's a metaphorical funeral for the band, looking back at what could have been.

Message: A bittersweet farewell to Sorrow, in all its forms.

Challenges and Experiences

Recording the album presented numerous challenges for the band. The use of remote recording was unfamiliar, and the process of transferring files between states and different music programs was demanding.

Remembered Eternally stood out as particularly challenging due to tempo changes, while Hidden Fear was completed the fastest, perhaps reflecting the band's growth in this new recording process.

The album also became deeply personal, particularly for the member who shared their traumatic accident in "Scar" and mourned the loss of their mother during the project.

Sorrow's album is not just a collection of songs; it is a raw, visceral journey through politics, personal tragedies, beliefs, and societal critiques. It's an album forged in the crucible of the band's collective experience over three decades.

The music transcends mere entertainment, reaching into the very soul of existence, asking questions, and challenging norms. It's a testament to the power of art, music, and words to encapsulate life's complexities and emotions. Whether you're a longtime fan of Sorrow or a newcomer to their sound, this album promises to engage you, grapple with your mind, and perhaps leave you reflecting on your own journey.

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.