Interviews About Albums: The Anchoret - It All Began With Loneliness (2023)

In this new interview, we sat down with the Canadian Progressive Metal/Progressive Rock artist The Anchoret to ask some questions about his upcoming album "It All Began With Loneliness"

1. What can you say about this new CD?

Eduard: IT ALL BEGAN WITH LONELINESS is our debut album and I'm extremely proud of it! Musically, the album is a love letter to some of the amazing artists whose music accompanied me throughout my life, good times and bad. Every track on the album has a little homage to a particular artist - for example, A Dead Man, the opening track on the album, has definite pink floyd moments, while All Turns to Clay has a little bit more of a dissonant King Crimson or even Van Der Graaf Generator vibe. Everything is still deeply rooted in Metal, of course.

Someone on Twitter called us Kitchen Sink Metal, and you know what? I think I agree because we really did throw everything but the Kitchen Sink into this album!

2. What is the meaning of the CD name?

Eduard: I started working on the album during the isolation of the pandemic. Not very long before the pandemic I moved to a new city and already felt uprooted, but when the pandemic hit, I think I was at my absolute lowest. The Album was named IT ALL BEGAN WITH LONELINESS because it really did begin there.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD?

Eduard: The music was composed and produced by myself and the vocals, vocal production, and arrangements, were by Sylvain Auclair. But It All Began With Loneliness really is the sum of all the amazing work and contributions made by the many musicians on the album.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

Eduard: This really is Sophie's choice for me, I've been listening to these songs in every single new iteration for a couple of years now and I feel that I've grown alongside them. But, if I had to pick one, I think I would go with "Someone Listening?". That song is truly a journey and it has that spacey vibe that, I think, gave the identity to the rest of the album.

5. Is there a special message in this CD? If there is what it is?

Eduard: True to its title, the album deals with Isolation in one form or another. There are definitely many ways to interpret Sylvain's lyrics but more importantly, every song has a positive spin about self-growth and self-help courtesy of Sylvain that I absolutely love.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

Eduard: The most personal song on the album is Stay and it is dedicated to a very dear friend of mine who is battling against Soft Tissue Sarcoma. Sylvain reinterpreted the story in his own way and delivered lyrics that can hopefully touch everyone, differently on a personal level. Here are just a few lines that, to me, mean a whole lot:

All I see
are millions of stars
dancing by the riverside

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Eduard: I was very late to the prog music thing. Sure, I enjoyed the classics like Dream Theatre, King Crimson, Camel, but it was not the soundtrack of my life - I guess blackened death metal was. It's only when I first heard The Raven That Refused to Sing by Steven Wilson that something clicked.

I was lucky enough to work with Andy Tillison, mastermind of The Tangent ( who have just released their what? 13th album?! ) who is credited as the Keyboard/synth player on the album, but really, he was a mentor throughout my whole journey. A true gentleman and a scholar who shared with me some amazing anecdotes and prog history. So, Andy, if you're reading this, thank you!

8. Something to add?

Eduard: Watch the Animated Music Video of our debut single "Forsaken" here:

You can preorder IT ALL BEGAN WITH LONELINESS in Digipak CD or Vinyl format on Bandcamp:

The album is set to release on June 23rd on Willowtip Records. You can follow The Anchoret on facebook, Instagram, and twitter:

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.