Interviews About Albums: Heron - Empires Of Ash (2022)

In this new interview, we sat down with the American Post-Rock/Sludge Metal band Heron to ask some questions about their new album "Empire Of Ashes"

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

We didn't want to come out of the odd comfort and loneliness of the pandemic totally hopeless. The fact that we still are friends and able to make music together was something we weren't going to waste so we got to work right away.

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

Empires of Ash refers to the impermanence of all humankind's great works. Every glorious victory, every sky-reaching monument, every pile of treasure soaked in blood will be ground down by the gears of time to become dust and ash.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

Each HERON track is a collaborative effort. One person may come up with the starting point but by the end all of our fingerprints are on each track.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

Hauntology is probably our favourite on the album. That song kept changing right up to the day we recorded it - which is not our usual process. We just love the way it flows and builds.

5. Is there a special message in this EP/CD? If there is what it is?

We're here for a good time. Not a long time.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

From "Hauntology" The future Is something that should have started long ago My only hope is that it's different from today Separate saviors We are all strangers I don't even know myself Life is overwhelming If there's more to life than meets the eye Then what earthly use am I Life is overwhelming How could the void be worse Destined descending A favor at first In time a curse

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

The guitars on this record are greatly influenced by Russian Circles, Sumac, Explosions in the Sky, and Pelican. The drums draw a lot from Monolord, Entombed, Spotlights, Long Distance Calling. The lyrics are inspired by fiction from the 1970s and 1980s for subject matter and poetry from the 19th century for meter and structure.

8. Something to add?

We are humbled by the stories we hear of people enjoying and connecting with our music. We couldn't be more grateful and can't wait to melt your face off live with this new record.

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.