Interviews About Albums: Mortalus - We Are Human (2023)

In this new interview, we sat down with the American Heavy Metal band Mortalus to ask some questions about their upcoming album "We Are Human"

1. What can you say about this new album?

Our new album, We Are Human, is more grounded in reality than our debut album, Heart So Black. There's no zombie apocalypse this time around... Each of us in the band went through some significant life-changing hardships that changed the way that we experience life. It shaped how we felt and how this music turned out. During this release, we decided to move forward as a trio which shaped the writing and sound and pushed us in a new direction. The sound is stripped down, heavy, and raw but we still work hard to bring melody and emotion into each track.

2. What is the meaning of the album name?

The album is named after the title track We Are Human but it doesn't directly refer to the title track. Each of the original songs revolve around subjects that are relatable to most of us "humans". Battle Born is about the struggle for gender equality. The Fixx features a life-or-death struggle with addiction. Fearless is about finding strength from within after living through trauma. Intended Victims is about peaceful, regular people being forced into a war they want no part of. Dearest friEND is a melancholy interlude about the nostalgia of good times with an old friend that you've lost touch with. Blood Red Sunset revolves around the bad ending of a said friendship. Finally, We Are Human is about self-love, acceptance, and adaptation while navigating through life in a society that makes you feel like a freak and an outcast.

3. Which one is the composer of the album?

Generally speaking, the band composed the album. Most of the songs started as a few riffs that we ended up turning into songs during jam sessions. It was a pretty laid-back process. We record a lot of our rehearsals and jam sessions and find pieces and parts that we want to keep evolving into songs. Once we build a solid musical foundation, it's usually Michelle who writes lyrics that fit whatever vocal melody that materializes while listening to the recordings on repeat during work commutes. But, that's not always how it happens. Sometimes we all sit around with pen and paper and brainstorm the overall lyrical structure which is later refined when Michelle demos out the vocals to figure out what really fits.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

That's a tough one. Even though the album is named after "We Are Human", I think we would all agree that Battle Born is something special. We had the music sitting around for quite a while but the lyrical concept came together after Patrick's Aunt Linda passed away. The song became somewhat of a eulogy for her and her lifelong advocacy work for women's rights and civil rights in general.

5. Is there a special message in this album? If there is what it is?

There is a recurring theme about overcoming adversity and choosing to keep going despite situations that seem hopeless.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

Battle Born: Wounded, I feel their Anguish... March On, They're Beaten in the Streets

Broken, their voices rising... Persist, Injustice needs to die

Fearless: No one sees, who rides behind the darkest driver in my mind

We Are Human: Immersed in my fear, running through this razor maze, Lacking Inhibition...

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Aside from Linda, who inspired Battle Born, the three of us would like to thank our loving and supportive spouses. You can only imagine how many times they had to hear these songs as we were working on this album. We also want to thank our extended families and our fans. It's been 5 years since our last album was released. We can hardly contain our excitement to finally share these songs with you. Thank you so much for your patience!

8. Something to add?

Please follow on social media and check us out online:


Twitter: @Mortalus_band
Instagram: Mortalus_Metal

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.