Interviews About Albums: Scalpel - Century In The Boilpit (2022)

In this new interview, we sat down with the American Death Metal band Scalpel to ask some questions about their latest album "Century In The Boilpit"

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

Century In The Boilpit represents what we feel is our best-recorded material so far, and is the first album featuring Matt Bellows on bass. It is the most vicious Scalpel has sounded, with the most attention to detail in regard to every step of the process. The stunning conclusion to The Woodsman trilogy will rip your face off with its riffs.

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

The boilpit is made of volatile human fluids, a hell we have been sentenced to.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

A member of the band will introduce a riff or idea and it will be elaborated upon by everybody in their own way.

3. If you had to pick one song which one would you pick?

Matt - The Woodsman III. Finally getting an ending that suits him and shows his descent into madness. The riffs are a mix of totally new ideas and themes of the old riffs that went with his songs.

Taylor – Septic Dream. It was the most fun for me to play.

Manny – Century in the Boilpit. This was the song where the riffs wrote themselves. The ending riff kept invading my dreams. Seeing that come to life was amazing.

Chip - The Woodsman III. I am very happy whenever I have the chance to play a grimdark, Immortal style triplet groove, even if it is only for a few measures.

4. Is there a special message in this CD/EP? If there is, what is it?

The special message in this album is that it doesn't have to be exceedingly long to be extremely brutal and enjoyable. Everything we wrote on this got sped up at some point in the writing process to make the songs as devastating as possible. We wanted to explore some lyrical themes and ideas that you definitely don't hear from a lot of bands.

5. Are there some lyrics you'd love to share?

I have a vision of a world of shit
A fecal future
I frolick in filth
Bathing in troughs of human waste
Sustaining my crevices
Imposing my
Strange paradise
- Septic Dream

6. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Massive thanks to Eric Alper who recorded this for us and spent an insane amount of hours mixing this so it sounded so insane! Jens Bogren of Fascination Street Studios for the mastering. Misha Mono for the incredible album artwork and for working with us on designs for t-shirts and our tapestry. Kyle Stumpff has done our two lyric videos and has also done a video for one of our live shows!! Last, but not least, we want to thank all our friends, family, and fans for coming to our shows, supporting our music, and helping us get to the point we are at today.

7. Something to add?

This album is for people who want to sit, listen and pick up the pieces of their fractured mental state. We hope the people who listen to this take 19 minutes to extract as much as they can from it.

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.