Interviews About Albums: Sinner Takes All - Sink Us, Or Let Us Swim (2023)

In this new interview, we sat down with the Croatian Metalcore band Sinner Takes All to ask questions about their album "Sink Us, Or Let Us Swim"

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

Writing for this record started back in 2021 when Vlad (Drums,Vocs) and Pavle (Guitar) formed the band, they had a few demos from their old band Once Alive and found the other members: Kristijan (Bass, Clean Vocs), Mihael (Guitar) and Antonio (Unclean Vocs) and started working on new songs. We have been a band for more than three years, and this record is a group effort by many people and friends working together to create something that we all wanted to hear on the metal scene. Old metalcore sound. So yeah, we released this record last year and are still proud of what we achieved so far.

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

"Sink Us, Or Let Us Swim" can be interpreted in a lot of different ways, but what it really means for us is - you will either like us or not. You will either give us an opportunity to grow, or let us sink in the back of your mind.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

We all contributed with riffs and lyrics, Vlad shaped and mixed the songs and Antonio shaped the vocals and lyrics. Everyone had the same goal and vision in mind so it was never hard to compose songs. We were always on the same page.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

Surface was one of the last songs we wrote for the album, and we all loved it so much that we decided to use it as an album opener. This is the first song you will hear on our album and it sums up our sound pretty well.

5. Is there a special message in this EP/CD? If there is what it is?

We wanted our songs to be easily relatable for anyone, they cover a lot of different topics. On the album you can hear from classic love letter songs to more deeper and personal lyrics.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

Maybe from our song Surface, where the lyrics go:

I will be, more than you asked for
All hope was found in you, now we are just broken hearts
Searching for the last of the open doors
Im trying to hold my head above the surface

The meaning behind it would be when you truly believed in someone, and found all your answers in that person, but in the end they broke your heart and now you are searching for an exit, for that one open door that will lead you to the surface.

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

We were all inspired mostly by Parkway Drive and other bands like I Killed the Prom Queen, Threat Signal, Woe is Me, Confide, and A Day to Remember... We all knew each other from going to local metal and punk gigs but we were all really worshiping the old Parkway Drive sound.

That band shaped a big part of our lives so we dedicated this album to that band and their sound hoping that we will also inspire some younger generations after us to pick up the guitar and enjoy the music.

Big thanks to Morana Schwarz for the album cover, Ivan Brigljevic for helping us record percussion, and all our friends, family, and supporters.

8. Something to add?

Be yourself. We know how often this is being said but we truly believe in being yourself, doing what you believe is right is how everyone should live.

We write music that we like and were dreaming about when we were high-school kids going to metalcore gigs and having fun.

We wouldn't have it any other way.

Stay tuned for updates and new music:

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.