Track By Tracks: Vonavibe - Bleed To Life (2023)

1. Left For Dead:

The opening track begins with an unconventional measure of 5/4 showing the prog side of the band. Starting with a laid-back riff that gives its way to powerful drums and guitars resulting in the main riff. From there on the track keeps us in constant tension leaving no rest for the listener.

2. Run n’ Hide:

An uplifting, almost happy yet heavy song. With a duration of just under 3,5 minutes, it yet manages to contain all the aspects of a full song, including a powerful solo before the last chorus which is accompanied by another solo resulting in a crescendo. Huge drums, heavy guitars, powerful vocals, and a rumbling bass make up the perfect recipe.

3. Vonavibe:

This is more on the rock side of music. Utilizing what one could almost describe as Vonavibe’s signature sound where melodies are constructed with the help of a Whammy, among other tools, makes room for a wider sound where the vocals are the protagonist.

4. Hold On:

This is the power ballad of the record. What begins with calm, clean riff results in roaring vocals and pounding guitars that take us through not one but two bridges. Some of the song’s most notable aspects are Dyon’s vocals which showcase a range of 4 octaves as well as the fact that the band does not choose to rely on always repeating the chorus but making room for something new that serves the song in a refreshing, yet powerful way.

5. Paint It Black:

This is basically how the Stones would have written the song if they were a heavy rock band reaching the limits of metalcore. An up-to-date production with riffs that reflect the current era of music.

6. All That Remains:

An emerging huge bass lays the foundation for Dyon’s voice while John Tass’ guitar acts as his doubler before we are introduced to the main riff where the rhythm part of the band is in perfect unison. Melodic vocals, powerful guitars, and drums are the key features. An interesting part is that the band chose not to rely on a solo but make up for it with a powerful bridge leading us to an outro before the final riff.

7. Beyond Tolerance:

Bells and percussion make way for a deep guitar that almost reaches the bass spectrum. Clean and warm vocals transform into a powerful, overwhelming burst before a hammering riff leads us to a haunting melody. What Vonavibe do is emulate the story of a relationship that begins as something warm and evolves into something dangerous, resulting in abuse, death, and ultimately redemption for the departed one.

8. Break Your Sky:

As the title suggests, Vonavibe dive right into the song without watering anything down with a huge, groovy riff yet always keeping up with the recipe of big drums and guitars that lay the foundation for melodic vocals and a technical yet musical solo. A song for everyone who needs to escape reality and break their boundaries.

9. Song 9:

One of the most dynamic songs of the album where Vonavibe once more utilize powerful riffs, screaming vocals, and their signature Whammy sound for an alternative solo in combination with a catchy melody. All of a sudden everything remains silent but a single weeping guitar is used as a pilar for the song to be rebuilt. This is actually one of the songs where Dyon’s growling vocals are most heard.

10. Alive:

The last song of the record speaks to a child and all there is to know about life. This is actually why the song is the longest of the record, lasting just a bit over 8 minutes, with fluctuations in the tempo of the song, dynamics as well as the vocals, and overall performance, that reach from tight and loud riffing to loose, quiet and warm melodies. The song could have not been without elaborative solos as well as some very interesting drumming by George Andrian where the drums fulfill their purpose and eventually stop to give way to the guitar’s melody which in conjunction with the bass slowly fades out resulting in a mixture of feelings. Feelings of loss, hope, frustration, happiness, and expectation for something new.

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.