Interviews About Albums: MASSFACE - Inequable (2022)

In this new interview, we sat down with the Russian Alternative Metal band MASSFACE to ask some questions about their new album "Inequable"

1. What can you say about this new CD?

Our new album "Inequable" shows MASSFACE's growth as a band. We picked up where we left off three years ago with "Blank" and continued experimenting with different rhythms, and elements of different genres we never tried before, from punk rock to metalcore and progressive metal - even used acoustic guitars this time! Also, this is our first album with the new vocalist Alexander, who took the lyrical and vocal game to another level and helped produce this really mature progressive rock/metal record which we are really proud of.

2. What is the meaning of the CD name?

"Inequable" means ever-changing, unequal, just like the shifting sound shapes of every song on this album - you can't be ready for the next part of the next song until you get to hear it. Check it out and you'll see!

3. Which one is the composer of the CD?

For "Inequable", the songwriting process went like this: every song started as a demo idea from one of the guys - either our bass player Aleksey, guitarist Ivan or drummer Denis. Sometimes they brought almost complete songs! Then our vocalist Alexander worked on vocal parts and lyrics, having discussed the lyrical theme for a song with the guys and implementing some of their ideas. At last, the rest of the band helped finish the instrumental part - Talberg spiced up guitar parts, and Sammy, Ivan, and Aleksey added electronic parts, thus finishing a song. So, as you see, all of us brought something to the table while working on this album.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

We'd probably unanimously go with "Aftermath". It's the lead single off "Inequable" as it perfectly captures the vibe of the whole album - ferocious yet fragile, heavy yet soothing, and overall unpredictable. But at the same time, "Aftermath" is a ride of its own. Starting off as a song about wildfires back in 2020, the final version of "Aftermath" lyrics has way more meanings if you think of it. What has humanity done to the Earth? What have we done to each other? Is there a way to fix any of it?

5. Is there a special message on this CD? If it is such, what is it?

We have only one life to live. Have fun, but be kind to each other.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

"Dive into the deep trying to hide

But through the ripples, you won't see the sky"

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like, musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Musically, we take inspiration from a lot of artists we admire and respect - from Tool, Dead Letter Circus, Failure to Linkin Park, Dance Gavin Dance, and Michael Jackson. We have a Spotify playlist "MASSFACE Influences" which is updated from time to time - so if you're really interested, go check it out!

Speaking of the lyrical sources of inspiration - it's mostly movies, books, and personal life, and for some of the songs, it's life-inspired events blended with imagination.

We'd like to thank our wives and girlfriends, our moms and dads, and our families and friends who support and inspire us every day. We love you! Special thanks go to our recording engineer for "Inequable" Artem Chepurin (Shrezzers, DORA), mixing & mastering sound engineer Dan Paranoid (Invertor, Askeza), director of photography Gleb Rzheutsky (MASSFACE's music video "Aftermath":, and a rehearsal studio owner Andrey Klochkov. Without you guys, this album wouldn't be as it turned out to be!

And last but not the least, thank you to each and every one who likes our music and continues to support us and what we do. Take care, soulmates!

8. Something to add?

MASSFACE's new album "Inequable" featuring singles "Aftermath", "The Fount" and "Dunes" is available on every streaming platform on September 16, 2022. Go give it a spin:

Thanks Breathing The Core for having us, it's a pleasure!

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.