Interviews About Albums: Ninth Realm - A Fate Unbroken (2022)

In this new interview, we sat down with the American Crossover/Thrash Metal band Ninth Realm to ask some questions about their new album "A Fate Unbroken"

1. What can you say about this new CD?

A Fate Unbroken is essentially what we’ve been looking for in a metal album. We wanted to cross all the types of genres of heavy metal and thrash we really like and create something unique and diverse while still remaining true and traditional. Some of the songs on A Fate Unbroken were written a few years ago, and it felt really good to bring them back and have them blend with some of the newer stuff we wrote.

2. What is the meaning of the CD name?

It’s a reference to a lot of the themes I (Joey) go into in a fantasy story I’ve been writing for quite some time now. It’s basically about the concept of how I have certain characters in my story try to fight against a cruel fate that they're destined with, and the sheer amount of force and willpower it takes to go against the inevitable. It’s sort of a rejection of prophecy and a praise of the indomitable human/mortal spirit I suppose.

3. Which one is the composer of the CD?

Some of the songs like Armageddon’s Howl and The Burning Wanderer Liam (lead guitar) and I wrote together back in like 2018-2019 for our Demo CD. Witch’s Choir we did as a single for our old record label and then just re-did it again for the full length. But more often than not Liam writes most of the tracks and I just try my best to make up drum parts for it. Then I come up with a sort of rough draft of the lyrics and I go over them with Ben (vocals) who finalizes everything and makes them better to do both in the studio and live.

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

If I’m being biased I have to go with The Burning Wanderer, just because it is incredibly on the nose about a character I’m currently writing about who exists in Tythorin. His true name is *currently* unknown but as of right now he simply goes by “The Burning Wanderer.” I’m planning on revealing more about him as soon as I start to unveil more of what I’ve been writing and drawing about as time goes on.

5. Is there a special message on this CD? If there is what it is?

I guess if there is any *special* message in the album, it's just that the themes and “fantasty-esque” aesthetic of our band really just come from a fictional world I’ve been writing and building outside of the band. I want to write and publish novels about stories that happen in this world, and I hope by utilizing this band I can push more interest toward my work. Metalheads and fantasy nerds typically go hand-in-hand.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

We kind of have a poetic/melodic part in our title track that I think is pretty sick. Here are the lyrics.

“The sun and the moon, will arise, no more”

“The traitors will fall, into Hell, by my sword”

“I’ve given to thee, a crown, but no throne”

“You’ll rest on your sins, a king wrought by doom”

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank especially?

Truth be told, I don’t think I would have decided to start a band like Ninth Realm if I didn’t discover Eternal Champion, Iron Age, War Hungry, and Power Trip back in 2015-2016. So if there is anybody or anything I’d personally like to thank, it's the State of Texas. I was always really into traditional heavy metal, doom, etc., and pretty much all of us in Ninth Realm grew up in classic-rock households and we all got into hardcore and punk in our own various ways. So when I heard in 2016 that members from Power Trip, War Hungry, and Iron Age were coming together to write Epic Heavy Metal I was fucking floored. I Am The Hammer was so sick, and it was pretty wild and reassuring(?) I suppose seeing that hardcore dudes were writing Traditional Heavy Metal in this day and age. You don’t see or hear stuff like that very often in Maryland/Baltimore, at least not anymore. So I remember hearing bands like that and just thinking “Somebody needs to do that here, on the east coast, specifically in Maryland.” And so I started Ninth Realm.

8. Something to add?

The album comes out November 4 on Mercenary Press. Album pre-orders are available and new single "Plea to the Heavens" is streaming at

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.