Interviews About Albums: Kitshickers - The Boarwin Hunt (2023)

In this new interview, we sat down with the Luxembourger Alternative Metal band Kitshickers to ask questions about their album "The Boarwin Hunt".

1. What can you say about this new EP/CD?

This new album is the 9th full length album in our career. Due to a line-up change in 2022 it took a bit longer for is to finalize it but hey, we are more than happy with the result. Our new drummer, Thierry and 3rd guitarist Raph (former Bass Player respectively Guitarist of "The Majestic Unicorns from Hell") fit in perfectly with our sound. As usual for almost 2 decades, this is also a concept album where the story of our protagonist continues. You must know that all our cover artworks narrate a continous story since 1999.

Now the special thing about this album is the fact that we release it only digital BUT coupled to a videogame. Yes, you heard right, with the album comes a videogame. Although the videogame isn't yet fully developed 3 out of 5 retro arcade games, featuring the band members as caracters can already be played.

A simple digital music download wouldn't have made any sense for us and would have been boooooring. Why a videogame? Well I will answer this when I explain the meaning of the album name.

2. What is the meaning of the EP/CD name?

We chose the title "The Boarwin Hunt" because we now discover that our alien protagonist actually is a human plugged into a vr simulator and all his life he has lived a fake, digital life. Like in a videogame he was on a hunt (or a quest) to find enlightenment but his hunt was also kinda fake(d).

Boarwin is an anagram for Rainbow because all our albums include a reference to the number what a rainbow has to do with that number...I would suggest you to check the internet for the answer by yourselves ;)

3. Which one is the composer of the CD/EP?

The whole band is involved in the writing of the music though some parts in the songs have been more predominately written by myself Gilles and by Boris. The songs wouldn't be the same though without the input of each single band member. The vocals have been written by our singer solely and we think he did a great job on that :-)

4. If you had to pick one song, which one would you pick?

Oh that's such a difficult question. All the songs are so different and stand out on their own. For us the whole album is 1 single continuous song and that's also the way we perform the yeah the album is the song and the song is the album.

5. Is there a special message in this EP/CD?If there is what it is?

No matter what your quest in life is, there are always things that might be different than they seem. Sometimes it is good to take a different angle to look at things and what might seem bad isn't that bad or what might seem good isn't that good. It is difficult to judge for our character if his virtual life is better than his real life but that's something we will discover with the next album.

6. Are there some lyrics that you'd love to share?

Sinking and drowning, in this sea of existence,
I find solace in the depths, where life is true essence.
Wandering minds, seeking paths to stray,
A grand performance, in an eternal play
Struggling to breathe in the deep waters that bind
A battle with shadows where hope tries to hide
But there’s a fire within
Seeking a purpose to rise and begin

7. Which inspirations have been important for this album? Like musically or friends, family, someone you'd love to thank specially?

Every little person, thing or event can be an inspiration, so, no there isn't one thing, band or person that inspired us. After so many years as a band we just love the company of each other and continue to make the music we love and enjoy playing. The music itself is what inspires us.

8. Something to add?

Make sure to support your local bands, because music is the issue!

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.