Track By Tracks: Plague Weaver - Ascendant Blasphemy (2021)

1. Nothing Is Sacred:

The album opener. This song starts off with a low-mid tempo, as it attempts to welcome the listener. The track quickly explodes into the verse sections with a faster tempo and more energetic vocals. The bridge introduces some extra guitar leads, and prepares the listener for the repetitive outro vocals, repeating the phrase ‘Nothing is Sacred. Let it be done.’

2. Lay Fire:

‘Lay Fire’ is a great example of just how fast, mean, and cold Plague Weaver can be. The main riffs ‘run’ at a comfortable pace along with the vocals, eventually winding down into a darker, wider-sounding bridge, complete with ambient screams. This tempo and mood carry the song to its end.

3. Blood Runs Not:

This song is a mid-tempo crusher! A consistent blastbeat carries the main riffs, with vocals that creep slowly, maintaining a powerful tone that really aids the sonic space in the verse sections. The bridge is a slower, more punishing section. Vocals here were delivered especially raw. This part is revisited at the end of the song, with lyrics aiming to condemn someone/something – “Blood runs not. Your neck spills lies, instead.”

4. Seek to Betray:

Starting fast and grim, then transitioning to a satisfying mid-tempo roll. The two main riffs of this song complement each other perfectly. The vocal writing and recording process was particularly fun. There are a lot of rhythms and tonal changes here that don’t show up in the other tracks.

5. Upheaval and Arson:

Another great fast-mid tempo song. This is one of the more exciting tracks on the album. Lots of power in the low growls, with the intention of creating a ‘sharper’ tone in the verse sections. These vocals are just angry. Musically, this song is one of the more satisfying ones. With trading riffs and a tasteful solo to help bring the track to a close, it stands with ‘Lay Fire’ and ‘Deicidal Usurper’ as one of the faster, meaner songs.

6. ..of Quivering Doves:

Hello doom. This is one that hearkens back to the previous EP’s doomier songs – A definite evolution of that style. This song should signal to the listener that the album is nearing a close, as it (along with the final track) aims to illustrate some kind of aftermath. It was also the perfect sonic aesthetic to attach the image of ‘quivering doves’ to. This song is a desolate winter, where doves lay and quiver, helplessly dying along with the hope that they represent.

7. Deicidal Usurper:

Aaaaaand we’re back to fast, grim, and mean! Deicidal Usurper grabs the listener right out of the gate, reminding them of the earlier tracks. This song has another ambient bridge section, which hangs on just long enough to thrust the listener back into the main riff for the next verse-chorus. The solo in this song is tasteful and proud, with ambient screams feeding the atmosphere behind it. The outro is a bit of a victory-verse feel, winding down into a harpsichord section that introduces the final track.

8. In Exitium Caeli:

The final track is hypnotic doom and gloom. ‘In Exitium Caeli’ is a second imagining of the aesthetic ideas left with the listener in ‘..of Quivering Doves’ – the final realization of those ideas. It seemed perfectly fitting to introduce such a song with the line “There is nothing.” – Sometimes the most basic imagery feels the best. The song continues on, with a repeating riff and a consistent drumbeat. The song ends with hypnotic guitar leads along the vocals chanting “Exitio Caeli” – “Destroy the sky” or in this case, “Destroy heaven”.

No hay comentarios

Imágenes del tema: Aguru. Con la tecnología de Blogger.